Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need to schedule an inspection?
The permit holder is responsible for scheduling all required inspections before any work is covered or concealed. Before scheduling any inspections, follow the procedures provided on the Inspection Information page to avoid service fees or penalties.
Do contractors have to be licensed?
Hiring an unlicensed contractor is a violation of Florida Statute 455.228 and is subject to a $5,000 fine. Before hiring a contractor go to Contractor Licensing to learn more.
Where can I learn about building code requirements?
Building Codes and Standards includes links to access this information online.
Will I need to get a new set of plans if they are lost or damaged?
The complete set of construction documents that have been reviewed and stamped by the Building Department must be on site for all inspections. If the pages are damaged or missing, you can purchase a new set of stamped plans from our office. Call (904) 827-6801 for more information.
When will my permit expire? Can I extend the expiration date?
Your permit is valid for 6 months from the date of issuance and/or your last approved inspection. 90 day extensions are available for a fee, by written request only, subject to the approval of the Building Official.
Can I make changes to the permitted plans?
Changes or revisions made to the reviewed set of construction documents must be submitted to the Permit Center for approval. Contact Building Department if you are planning any changes, before the work is done.
Can a property owner get a permit without a contractor?
Most construction projects require comprehensive planning, technical knowledge and multiple trade skills to be successful. Property owners that choose to apply for a building permit must comply with Florida Statute 489.103, chapter 7 and all other applicable laws.
Review the Building Codes & Standards links to ensure that the proposed design and construction details meet the current requirements. The St. Johns County Development Review Manual describes additional rules and procedures that must be followed, and the Permit Information page describes how to begin the permit process.
If you choose to hire a contractor to perform some or all of the work, check Contractor Search to verify the current status of their license.
What are the Wind-Borne Debris Regions in St. Johns County?
The current 2020 Florida Building Code wind design and wind borne debris criteria is currently based on ASCE 7-16 and may be determined by entering the project location using the ATC Hazards by Location website (atcouncil.org). Projects that will be permitted after December 31, 2023 will utilize the wind design load from ASCE 7-2022.
Open 7:30 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday
4040 Lewis Speedway, St. Augustine, Florida, 32084. Map
Phone: (904) 827-6800
Fax: (904) 827-6849
Phone: (904) 827-6820
Fax: (904) 827-6847
Phone: (904) 827-6822
Fax: (904) 209-0707
St Johns County Building Department
Committed to Building Safety